Earning $1,100 per hour

Here’s a fun story.

This past week, I had one last bill to pay from our daughter’s birth last Fall.  I’m not going to go into the drama of why we had pay a bill “out of network” despite going to a hospital that was “in network”, but suffice it to say that I wasn’t happy about it.

The bill was for $2,800.

So I called and said I need to pay my bill, but that I’d like a reduced amount.  Surprisingly, right out of the gate, they said they could bring it down to $1,800.  I told them I’d like to see if they could do a little better.  The hemmed and hawed, but came back with $1,700.  We have plenty to cover that in our HSA, so I was fine with that.

So our bill was reduced by $1,100 from about 15 minutes of haggling with them.  It’s a great lesson that I learned from Dave Ramsey’s FPU class about negotiating.  If you don’t try, you won’t get the discounts.

But with a little courage and practice, it gets easier.

Leave a Reply

